Today is weigh-in day and I lost two pounds. If you're counting, that's 7 pounds in 2weeks. Thus, 3.5 pounds a week. That's not bad, huh? Nope, cuz that's the good.
The not-so-good is that I went a little crazy with my choices tonight. It all started at lunchtime. I made a mistake I often make. I didn't eat until long after lunchtime was gone. By then, I was beyond hungry and in no mood to wait even for the microwave to heat up my lunch. See, I'd much rather rip open a package of something (Nabs, cereal bars, trail mix, that stuff) than prepare anything.
(Prepare, for those of you confused by this terminology, refers to anything more extensive than said ripping of package. Therefore, putting a frozen meal in the microwave and waiting 4 minutes=Prepare. Putting lettuce and veggies--precut of course--between two slices of storebought bread = Prepare. Got it?)
How could I have remedied this problem? Well, by preparing my lunch at a time when I was NOT so hungry that I could have eaten the guinea pig--if, of course, she had already been packaged. Then, my sandwich would have been, well, in a package ready to rip open. That is one solution. Another is to have eaten earlier--perhaps, and this is just a thought, when my body told me it was hungry.
But here's one more possibility. What if I'd let my mistakes at lunch go and then gotten right back on track by dinner time? Then, I'd have made good choices for dinner and would be making a different report now. Instead, I do that thing that I do sometimes (I know others who suffer from the same nasty habit). I became an egg-dropper.
Don't know what an egg-dropper is? Imagine you are baking a cake or about to scramble an egg (it's your egg, do what you want with it). The egg slips from your hands and crashes to the floor. What do you do?
Of course! You clean it up (some of you call the dog, I know, but do get the shells up first) and get out another egg. What you don't do is get out the whole dozen and throw them one by one onto the floor saying, "Well that's it. I've dropped one egg, I might as well drop them all. (crash) I'm an egg-dropper. (crash, crash) I always have been. My mama was an egg dropper (crash) and her mama (crash) before her (crash, crash). Plus, my environment (crash) doesn't make it any easier (crash) because the floor (crash) is so hard! (crash)"
Nope, we clean up the broken egg, get out a new egg, and move on. Today, I should have done that at lunch. "Oops. Made some bad choices there. Whoa. Better clean that mess up and move on." Instead, I threw down another half-dozen mistakes or more, acting like I didn't have any choice in the matter.
My daddy calls that stinkin-thinkin. Daddy didn't put up with stinkin-thinkin.
So, tomorrow is a new day. It looks like it will be one good-looking day. A good day to make good choices. A good day to get some exercise. A good day to move on.
Decreased a little more,
Aileen
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment