Friday, December 11, 2009

wagon in sight

Well, I did a lot of the things I wanted to do yesterday: the goodies are in the garage fridge, I drank more water than I had been, I exercised, and I chose more fruits and veggies. Here's what I didn't do: I didn't journal. And if I'm not writing down what I'm eating, I seem to eat ad infinitum. Why I don't journal is a mystery. Because I'm more content when I journal. I'm more satisfied. I'm less hungry. But sometimes I act like a spoiled brat, determined to do it my way even if it kills me. (Or at least increases me.)

So my goal for today is to write down what I eat, no matter the cost. I'll just write it down. If I go over my points target, so be it. If I use up the entire month's flex points, well alright. I'm just going to write it down anyway.

That's my goal. That's how I'll decrease.
Aileen

Thursday, December 10, 2009

stupid wagon

When I fall off the wagon, it's never because of a massive wreck. It's generally a more lengthy process than that. Like the wagon starts to swerve, but I hang on; it tilts and I almost get dumped, but don't. This goes on for a day or so, the swerves becoming more decisive, the tilts becoming more radical. Then one day I look up and dang if the wagon isn't way up ahead with me sprawled out on the road behind it.

It all started, this time, with the Annual Cookie Bake I do with my kids. I did okay on that day and on the next. Still, having Christmas cookies all over my house--not to mention left-over icing--is never a good thing. But this last week was exam/papers due dates week. I was a tad stressed. Me stressed + Christmas goodies? Disaster.

So today, I've got some decisions to make. Do I get back on the wagon or do I let it keep bumping along the road? In order to catch it, I need to move the Christmas treats out of the kitchen fridge and down to the garage fridge. I need to choose fruits and veggies, not chocolate and candy. I need to eat three meals, and not substitute one or two with junk.

Will I catch that wagon today? We'll see. If I do, I'll be back on the road to decreasing.

Aileen

Friday, December 4, 2009

I'm a 10 (point 5.)

Today is weigh-in day and I'm down 10.5 pounds. Woot! Woot!

I have been in so many Weight Watchers meetings and listened to people talk about their success. Inevitably, someone in the room asks, "What's your secret?" I hold my breath. I cross my fingers. Maybe this time . . .

But 999 times out of 1000, the successful one says some variation of, "Well, I've been eating right and exercising."

Shoot! Uggh! Not again.

That's no secret. Everybody knows that. I want a SECRET. I want a magic pill. A special potion. Anything. But don't make me eat right and exercise. Geez.

Throughout high school and college, my best friend was a guy named Mark Harris. I went to Campbell and Mark went to some technical college in a little town called Chapel Hill. (And that did not end our friendship: a statement of how much I like this guy.) Our freshman year, he called one day sounding upset. His parents were elderly, so I was immediately concerned that something had happened to his dad.

"Aileen, I've got terrible news."
"What's wrong Mark?"
"Well, I've just learned the truth about," (my heart was thumping; what could it be?) "weight loss."
"Weight loss?"
"Yes and it's not good."
"We're talking about weight loss?"
"Right. Are you ready?"
"Now that I know your parents aren't dead, I suppose so."
"There is only one way to lose weight. And you have to" (gulp, pause, deep breath), "eat right and exercise. That's the only way to lose weight and keep it off."

Well now I could see why he was so upset. Could the news be any worse?

But over the years, I've found that Mark, despite his limited collegiate education, was right. (Mark, by the way, majored in Chemistry, went on to Cornell for his PhD and is now chairman of the Chem dept. at the university where he teaches.I guess he should know something about calorie burning.)

And the past few weeks have proven his statement true once again: eat right, exercise, and excess weight begins to dissolve.

I'm sorry I don't have a magic pill. Wish I did. What I do have is a commitment to decrease--one right choice at the time.

Decreasing doubt, Increasing health,
Aileen

Thursday, December 3, 2009

100 Calories? You're kidding!

Bob reminded Amanda that unconscious calories count. Amanda replied, nodding, "Like when I grab a handful of cereal." Bob said, "Yeah, that's 100 calories right there."

Shut your mouth.

Bob--as you probably know--is one of the trainers on The Biggest Loser. Amanda is one of the 4 semi-finalists. Amanda is 19 or 20 and has fought obesity her whole life. She's doing great, but she's struggling with the daily demands of real world eating.

So I'm watching this "reality" (yeah right) TV show and I'm blown away. I'm thinking, no flipping way! I shove a handful of cereal into my mouth several times a day. 100 calories?! Be real.

Being me, I had to get proof. (Not that I don't love ya Bob, if you're reading . . .) I figured I could get about a fourth of a cup of cereal into my hand on a quick grab. Now 1/4 cup is NOT 100 calories--at least not on any of the cereal boxes I checked. So shame on you Bob for exaggerating. (Amanda and I are about the same size now so I guess her hands hold about as much cereal as mine do.)

But a handful is probably 50 calories. Seeing that in print, I don't want to believe it. So let's go 35. Yeah, that's better. Okay, 35 calories in a handful of cereal. Take that and multiply it by the number of handfuls per day. YIKES! Shoot. That's where the 100 calories (okay, "plus") comes in. Bob may have exaggerated on the one (wait for it) hand, but on the other, he was right on target. I could easily consume 100 uncounted calories in cereal.

Shut my mouth.

An "Aha" moment. An epiphany. A dadgum shame.

Guess I better start keeping up with my handfuls, huh? That is, if I want to decrease.

Increasing Eating Awareness, Decreasing Mindless Consumption,
Aileen

Tuesday, December 1, 2009

December 1

Internet. I have a love/hate relationship with it. Lately, I've not been loving it as my access at home has been limited.

I'm back--if only for a moment.

It's December and I'm back on track after the Thanksgiving holiday. I actually managed to avoid gaining--a great thing. But dadgum-it, now I am facing a month long holiday. Everywhere I turn, food stares me in the face. UGGH! And we're not talking about brussel sprouts and broccoli here. Truffles, cookies, pies, candy, candy, candy. The GOOD stuff, not the good-for-you stuff.

The other thing is, I get stressed around this time of year: house needs decorating, overscheduling, exams. It's so intense. And I have a tendency to use food to handle stress. Not a good combination: stress and ever-present goodies.

So what should I do? For one thing, I need to find alternate ways to handle stress.
Also, I need to reduce the stress in my life by eating right and exercising (both great stress relievers for me). But most importantly, I have to remember that I don't have to handle this whole month at one time. I only have to face one day at a time, and I do that all year round anyway.

If I can just remember my own survival plan, the whole holiday should be a piece of . . . fruit(?)

Decreasing a little at a time,
Aileen